Arash Fatemian

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Deddington Division
Banbury Town Councillor for Hardwick East Ward

Arash was re-elected County Councillor for the Deddington Division in May 2017 having represented the area since 2013. In that time Arash has fought passionately to represent the concerns of residents across the Division's 13 parishes on a wide variety of local issues, from potholes to fighting against excessive development, concerns about rural policing and infrastructure, and campaigning to protect vital local services such as bus routes and fighting for the Horton Hospital. He was instrumental in getting Oxford University NHS Foundation Trust’s (OUHFT) decision to suspend obstetric services at the Horton General Hospital referred to then Secretary of State for Health, Jeremy Hunt. He continues to be committed to the Horton cause as the Chairman of Oxfordshire's Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (HOSC) and Chairman of the Horton Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (HHOSC) both of which play a vital role in holding the Trust and the Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) to account.  

Oxfordshire County Councillors have access to funds to help support local initiatives. Between 2013 and 2017, Arash used his Councillors Community Budget on several projects in the Divison including; investment in adult gym equipment for Bodicote village park, £3000 donated towards the redevelopment of Deddington green, the installation of a temporary wall around Fritwell pond and money to support Steeple Aston's valentine club which connects older people from nearby villages. He lives in the Division with his wife and two young sons.

The Deddington Division comprises the Parishes of; Adderbury, Barford St John and Barford St Michael, Bodicote, Deddington, Duns Tew, Fritwell, Middle Aston, Milton, North Aston, Somerton, Souldern and Steeple Aston.



Horton scrutiny body granted expanded remit

Powers for local Councillors to scrutinise plans concerning the future of the Horton General Hospital have been strengthened after Conservative-led Oxfordshire County Council agreed to revise the scope of the Horton Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Horton HOSC).

Councillors urge CCG to hear obstetric unit evidence in Horton fight

As scrutiny of the decision to downgrade maternity provision at the Horton General Hospital continues, local Councillors have urged the CCG to hear evidence from other small obstetric-led maternity units before making their final decisions about the permanent future of maternity services in Banbury.

Banbury Conservatives give evidence at key Horton Hospital meeting

Banbury Conservatives were pleased to stand with local residents in continuing to fight for the reinstatement of obstetric-led maternity services at the Horton General Hospital at a meeting of the Horton Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (HHOSC) today.

Banbury Councillors work together to give town bus lifeline

Councillors from both political parties have come together to pledge their commitment to working towards retaining bus services in Banbury and its surrounding villages in a letter published in today's Banbury Guardian.

Banbury Conservatives rally round the Horton General Hospital at HOSC

At yesterday’s extraordinary meeting of Oxfordshire County Council's Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Banbury Conservatives, together with Victoria Prentis MP, strongly rejected the Clinical Commissioning Groups plans for significant service change at the Horton General Hospital.

See Also

Eddie Reeves

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Banbury Calthorpe Division

Eddie was elected to represent the Calthorpe Division in May 2017. He considers it a huge honour to represent the area where he too lives and works. Like most hard-working people, he believes that politics is about finding solutions to problems, not problems to politicise.

Tony Ilott

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Banbury Hardwick Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Banbury Hardwick Ward
Banbury Town Councillor for Hardwick West Ward

Already a Town and District Councillor for Hardwick, Tony was also elected as the County Council representative in May 2017.

Lawrie Stratford

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Bicester North Division

Lawrie has lived in Bicester since 1992 and firmly believes in local solutions for local people. Both he and his wife Rose have served Bicester on both Bicester Town Council and Cherwell District Council.

Michael Waine

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Bicester Town Division

Michael has represented the residents of Bicester Town on Oxfordshire County Council since 2005. Born in Bicester, Michael spent his professional career educating the town's next generation with early work at St. Edburg’s School and then as Headteacher at Glory Farm.

Kieron Mallon

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Bloxham and Easington Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Calthorpe and Easington Ward
Banbury Town Councillor for Easington South Ward

Kieron was first elected to Local Government in Banbury in 1997.

Dan Sames

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Otmoor Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Bicester South and Ambrosden Ward
Bicester Town Councillor for South Ward

Already a Bicester Town and Cherwell District Councillor for South Bicester, Dan was elected to represent the Otmoor Division on Oxfordshire County Council in May 2017.

Ian Corkin

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Ploughley Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Fringford and Heyfords Ward

Ian was elected County Councillor for the Ploughley Division in May 2017. He is passionate about the needs of the rural community from protecting each village's unique heritage to the farming economy, broadband, tackling rural isolation and improving local roads.

George Reynolds

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Wroxton and Hook Norton Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Cropredy, Wroxton and Sibfords Ward

George has represented the villages of Northern Cherwell on Oxfordshire County Council for almost 20 years and on Cherwell District Council for some 35 years. He is a passionate believer in local Government being readily accessible and delivering services quickly and efficiently.