Ian Corkin

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Ploughley Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Fringford and Heyfords Ward

Ian was elected County Councillor for the Ploughley Division in May 2017. He is passionate about the needs of the rural community from protecting each village's unique heritage to the farming economy, broadband, tackling rural isolation and improving local roads. Ian has lived in the heart of the area in Ardley with Fewcott for 24 years and has been involved in several local campaigns including opposition to the Ardley wind turbines and defending the area against excessive local development both industrial and residential. He is anti-HS2 and has been involved in efforts to retain vital acute services at the Horton General Hospital in Banbury.

Since becoming your County Councillor, Ian has focused on local community interests from campaigning to secure funding for safety improvements to the Wendlebury bus stop to restoring community bus routes, pushing the case for the installation of a pedestrian crossing at Heyford Park School and campaigning for funding for communities that will be impacted by HS2, East-West Rail and the Oxford to Cambridge Expressway, as well as, of course, tackling potholes and defects on local roads. 

Ian currently serves as a Cabinet Member on Oxfordshire County Council and an Executive Member of Cherwell District Council, where amongst other things, he is responsible for delivering partnership working between the two authorities. He is also a non-executive director of Graven Hill in Bicester, which will be, when complete, the largest self-build site in the country.

The Ploughley Division comprises the Parishes of; Ardley with Fewcott, Bainton, Baynards Green, Blackthorn, Caulcott, Chesterton, Cottisford, Finmere, Fringford, Fulwell, Godington, Hardwick with Tusmore, Hethe, Heyford Park, Juniper Hill, Launton, Little Chesterton, Lower Heyford, Middleton Stoney, Mixbury, Newton Morrell, Newton Purcell, Stoke Lyne, Stratton Audley and Upper Heyford.



Superfast broadband comes to Stoke Lyne

Residents in Stoke Lyne can now upgrade to superfast broadband thanks to an extended rollout of the Better Broadband for Oxfordshire programme.

See Also

Eddie Reeves

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Banbury Calthorpe Division

Eddie was elected to represent the Calthorpe Division in May 2017. He considers it a huge honour to represent the area where he too lives and works. Like most hard-working people, he believes that politics is about finding solutions to problems, not problems to politicise.

Tony Ilott

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Banbury Hardwick Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Banbury Hardwick Ward
Banbury Town Councillor for Hardwick West Ward

Already a Town and District Councillor for Hardwick, Tony was also elected as the County Council representative in May 2017.

Lawrie Stratford

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Bicester North Division

Lawrie has lived in Bicester since 1992 and firmly believes in local solutions for local people. Both he and his wife Rose have served Bicester on both Bicester Town Council and Cherwell District Council.

Michael Waine

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Bicester Town Division

Michael has represented the residents of Bicester Town on Oxfordshire County Council since 2005. Born in Bicester, Michael spent his professional career educating the town's next generation with early work at St. Edburg’s School and then as Headteacher at Glory Farm.

Kieron Mallon

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Bloxham and Easington Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Calthorpe and Easington Ward
Banbury Town Councillor for Easington South Ward

Kieron was first elected to Local Government in Banbury in 1997.

Arash Fatemian

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Deddington Division
Banbury Town Councillor for Hardwick East Ward

Arash was re-elected County Councillor for the Deddington Division in May 2017 having represented the area since 2013. In that time Arash has fought passionately to represent the concerns of residents across the Division's 13 parishes on a wide variety of local issues, from potholes to fighting a

Dan Sames

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Otmoor Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Bicester South and Ambrosden Ward
Bicester Town Councillor for South Ward

Already a Bicester Town and Cherwell District Councillor for South Bicester, Dan was elected to represent the Otmoor Division on Oxfordshire County Council in May 2017.

George Reynolds

Oxfordshire County Councillor for Wroxton and Hook Norton Division
Cherwell District Councillor for Cropredy, Wroxton and Sibfords Ward

George has represented the villages of Northern Cherwell on Oxfordshire County Council for almost 20 years and on Cherwell District Council for some 35 years. He is a passionate believer in local Government being readily accessible and delivering services quickly and efficiently.